SPACE
Today’s featured cardmaker is Ann K. from Seattle. Check out her lovely cards and leave her some love at the end of this post as she doesn’t have a blog yet.

How long have you been stamping? I think I’ve been stamping off and on for about 15 years. I took a few classes at Impress Rubber Stamps in Seattle and loved that the artwork was already created for me. My best friend and I like to get together a few times a year to make cards. Her girls also enjoy it and have turned into great card makers. I’ve always loved cards and stationery so getting to make my own was a great creative outlet.

Do you have a craft room or specific area where you stamp? I wish I had a craft room. Instead I use the dining room table and have to put everything away when I’m done or live with the mess. I’ve done both.

What are your favorite stamp products? I like a little bit of everything but don’t like anything too “fussy”. Embellishments with sentiments make card making so simple.

Do you have a favorite technique? Although I haven’t done it in awhile, I really like heat embossing. I think the look can be so clean and elegant. I’ll have to get my heat gun and embossing powder out again soon.

Are there colors you love to include on your cards? Almost anything goes, I sometimes pull out supplies in a seasonal color theme and see what comes together. Other times I find a sheet of embellishments and try to create cards around them.

How did you hear about Operation Write Home?
I read about OWH in Paper Crafts magazine last spring and then spent a lot of time on the website reading about the organization and getting inspired by all the creativity.

What motivates you to make cards for our heroes? What I liked best about OWH is that the cards they provide to the service men and women so far from home encourage them to write to friends and family. A card or letter in the mail is such a treat and so different from an email or phone call. Something more permanent, to be treasured. Messages from heros on the blog and Facebook really are an inspiration to keep making more cards for them to write home on.

SPACE